AVSL Round 12

The rush to be eligible for the Play Off was on in Round 12. Athletes making sure they had their 4 rounds and could compete at Lakeside on Feb 22.

A big thank you to all those athletes and parents who helped us set up, pack up and officiate at Aberfeldie on Saturday. Without your help, the show can’t go on. We will be looking for helpers at the Vic Champs at the end of the month….please consider putting in a day.

We finished top of Premier Division winning 8 of the 12 rounds. KSB and Sandringham finished in the Auto Relegation spots while Chilwell will play off the 3rd Div 2 team. Box Hill played their Power Play and jumped from 8th to 4th…a gutsy move on their part.

Across the state our teams enjoyed successful seasons; M20 and M16 teams finished on top, while M18 and M14 finished 2nd. Our best women’s team was W16 who finished 3rd across Victoria. The M40 should be pleased with their result too, coming 4th despite not having any of their top throwers compete often and the sprinters being on light duties for much of the season.

We dominated Yellow Zone with 7 of our 12 teams finishing on top with another 4 finishing 2nd.

Steeple, 1500m and 3000m

The biggest result of the day came from Archie Noakes who broke the long standing M16 2000m steeple chase club record with 6:17.4 and a massive 543 points. He then backed up with an impressive 4:19 1500m. Brody Thrum wasn’t far behind in the steeple, recording 6:28.2 for 498 points.

Bashir Abdinoor ran a 1500 PB of 4:18, while Jonathan Neethling ran a 6 sec PB in his 1500m.

Aidan Roberts lead the way in the 1500s with a time of 4:01 (505 points), with Lachie Attard just behind with 4:12 (466 points). New member, Dex Brumby, ran 4:16!

Lauren Connell ran the 3000m and 800m at Geelong, while Bianca Puglisi ran the 800m at Box Hill in 2:23 for 450 points.



In a surprise for the sprinters, the wind was behind them so we saw some good times. Melssa Foster, W40, beat her all time 100m by 0.3 sec (wind assisted) with a strong 12.54 sec. She also jumped an impressive 5.16m long jump, into the wind! Unfortunately, Melissa will miss round 13 while she goes for gold at the WA championships.

Rizin Sharafuddeen ran 11.57 sec to qualify for round 13, while Linda Caligiuri topped our sprinters with 498 points for her 100m. Linda also had a go at the long jump for the first time this season. Brian Mayego ran his 100m in 11.07 while TJ ran 11.05 sec.


Marcus Guglielmino ran his second best time ever in the 400m with 49.66sec. Vishnu Satish wasn’t far behind with his 50.78 sec run.


Over the hurdles we had Amanda Wrout run 14.18 over the 90m for 446 points and Ellie Kewish ran 16.07 over the 100 sticks to collect 431 pts.


Angus Wood (6.33m) just beat Alwyn Jones (6.26m) in the long jump, although Coach Jones claims his jump was off just 6 steps…amazing air! Zoe Edwards with 5.04m got the big points (477), while Montana Djatschenko wasn’t far behind with her 5.62m jump earning 464 points. Meanwhile, Cooper Cavallo was down the highway at Geelong triple jumping 12.64m for 464 points.

Harry Orr was again our best high jumper. His 1.80 m earned 522 points. Harry clears 1.8m every time he competes….not bad for under 14.

Jade Guglielmino (3.87m) and Sam Conti (2.85m) were our best in the pole vault competition, which was dominated by Box Hill. A big thanks to Jade for setting up and packing up the pole vault at the end of a long day.


Another big round from star thrower, Kevin Healy. Kevin went to Box Hill to do the shot and hammer, then over to Aberfeldie for the discus. All up Kevin amassed 1508 points!

At the javelin we had some impressive results; lead by evergreen Duncan Knox’s throw of 31.89m (461 pts), followed by Victoria Entwistle-Hardeman with 31.83m (452). Victoria also throw the discus 33.12m for 468 points. Others to perform well in the jav were Sam Conti 38.55 m (429), Ellie Kewish 24.13m (426), Kaylee Mangion 22.52m (411) and Danny Hawksworth 33.99m (410).

Orla McCarthy threw the discus a massive 40.45m for 517 points.

Next up is the AVSL Playoffs. Don’t forget to get your entries in early- they open 2pm on Wednesday 12th Feb. You can check your eligibility on the AV website homepage, which is now up to date.