AVSL 2022/23: Round 9 Wrap

The risk of activating our Powerplay in the second last round of the home and away season paid off with the club recording a massive 52,673 points. This fantastic team effort saw us top the Premier Division for round 9 and secure 10 valuable ladder points which were doubled to 20 and has secured out spot in the Playoffs.

Kevin Healy made it 2/2, breaking the U20 hammer throw record again, this time with a throw of 60.24m.

Congratulations to the following athletes on being named in the top 10 Most Valuable Athletes for Zone A: Ella Leith, Armani Mauriohooho, Sasha Jurson and Mackenzie Leith.

A big congratulations to Harry Osman (U14) on competing in his first steeplechase race. Congratulations to Charlotte Jackson (U18) on taking ten seconds off her 2000m steeplechase PB (7:34.8 PB). Good form continued across the board with the following athletes recording either PB or SB, 200m: Sam Meehan (U14) 26.96 PB, Robert Asllanaj (U16) 29.44 PB, Harriet Gray (U16) 33.20 PB; 800m: Jayme-Lee Cobain (U16) 2:28.08 SB, Audrey Savage (U20) 2:29.06 SB, Vanessa D’Andrea (Open) 2:32.38 SB, Riley Walsh (U18) 2:03.9 SB, Mark Asllanaj (U18) 2:23.4 PB; 1500m: Emily Mifsud (U18) 4:47.4 PB; 2000m steeplechase: Oscar Lichter (U16) 6:55.5 PB, Harry Osman (U14) 7:37.2 PB; discus: Mason Hambling (U14) 19.48m PB, Matthew Makin (40+) 21.72m PB; hammer throw: Mason Hambling 20.71m PB, Matthew Makin 18.03m PB;  javelin: Joanna Margiolis (Open) 28.91m SB.

A big shout out to Arthur Whitchell for working as an official during the relays as well as our U16 girls relay team for organising their own relay and managing to register their team whilst preparing for their 200m. Well done to our 40+ men on pulling together two teams as well as our open men and women for competing in a relay.

A big thank you to the following for assisting with duties at either Aberfeldie or Geelong: Maggie Armstrong, Luke Gray, Chris Bremner, Maz Strong, Danielle Reinhardt, Sam Healy, Hasitha Alwis, Audrey Savage, Kath Butler, Philip Barrett, Mel Foster, Mark Harper, Kim Walsh, Aaron Downs, Joel Cuzzi, David Jones, John Cooper, Brian Anderson, Richard Brophy, Joanna Margiolis, Arthur Whitchell, Tania Hardin, Kelly Wood, Stephanie Thomas and Tanja Petrovic.