AVSL 2022/23: Round 1 Wrap

We had the home advantage for the initial round of the summer season with Moonee Valley Athletics Centre hosting the Zone A meet. The start of summer season also coincided with Peter Norman Day. All boding well for an auspicious day. (For more information on Peter Norman Day please refer to the Peter Norman Day article on our website).

As it was round 1 of the new season there are a number of athletes who made their debut for the club. To all of our new members welcome and congratulations on completing your first round for the club!

There was a fantastic turn out of athletes with some notable performances including: Ela Uzun (14:32.0) and Havana Ali (16:39.2) who both broke the existing U14 women’s 3000m walk record. The previous record of 16:40.12 is held by their aunt Eda Girgin. Ela’s time has in fact broken the U14-U17 3000km walk records.

Some outstanding performances across multiple events saw a number of athletes be named in the top 10 Most Valuable Athletes for Zone A. Congratulations to the following: Armani Mauriohooho, Sasha Jurson, Imogen Makin, Sukhnoor Rangi, Amanda Wrout, Arden Stevens, Richard Brophy and Mackenzie Leith.

Well done to the Makin and Hambling throwing crew who scored some very valuable points at both Aberfeldie and Knox! Not even the two hammers that landed in the trees at Knox could ruin the high spirits of this energised crew.

We’d also like to acknowledge a number of athletes who received PBs this round:
Rosa Barbanti – 1500m (5:13.6)
Charles Barrett – 1500m (4:03.0)
Jannick Ernst – 400m (52.72)
Charlotte Jackson – 1500m (4:57.6)
Christian Knox – 1500m (4:26.8)
Imogen Makin – hammer throw (21.60m)
Jonathan Neethling – 1500m (4:21.6) with a broken arm
Noah Tarallo – 1500m (4:47.0)

We’d like to also congratulate Arthur Whitchell on reaching the milestone of 75 years at the club. Arthur was presented with a gift on behalf of the club for is service. Thanks to Ryk Neethling for capturing this milestone.

At the completion of the first round of competition, Athletics Essendon scored 60,357 and sit at the top of the Premier Division table with Diamond Valley in second place and Eaglehawk in third.

In order to host a competition there are a number of individuals who volunteered their time to ensure the competition went ahead. Thank you to the following for filling our club duties: Philip Barrett, Danielle Reinhardt, Hasitha Alwis, Sarah Mullens, Colin Davis, Anna Neethling, Emily Lynn, Kim Walsh, Susan Harris, Sandra Schultze, Fiona Tarquinio, Stephen Murphy, David Jones, Melissa Foster, Mark Harper, Charlotte Wilson, James Brennan, Tania Hardin, Kristen Towers and Maz Strong.

Thank you to the setup team for coming early to ensure the track was setup on time and to all those who stayed back to pack up the venue.

Of course, a big thank you to the Athletics Victoria officials for their efforts throughout the day and our club coaches for supporting our athletes.

Thanks to Ryk Neethling (, Victoria Entwistle-Hardeman (@veh_photography) and Joanna Margiolis (@joannamargiolis) for taking photos for the club. Full albums can be viewed on our Facebook page.

For the full list of results please refer to ResultsHub.

If you record a PB at AVSL throughout the season please email or have your coaches email by 5pm on the Monday after competition.

Please submit any records here: